Ruthie is certain the beasterbunny eats small children

One thing my mama was great at was Easter baskets. She always cleared off Harriet’s table, and put together an elaborate display of baskets, grass, and Paas Easter egg holders. I grew up in the 80’s so there was the plastic cellophane colored Easter grass of course, and she put so many jelly beans in the basket, that I was finding them in the grass for days! There were ,of course, the typical chocolate bunny, marshmallow peeps, cadbury eggs, robin’s eggs (my favorite) and there were no cheap plastic eggs for us. No sir, we had the real deal hard boiled colored eggs in our basket every Easter Sunday. We also hunted real Easter Eggs and somehow never managed to find them all, until June or July that is…

In some ways I loved those baskets more than I love Christmas presents. Funny though, even though the Easter Baskets were a big deal, I don’t remember ever really believing in the Easter Bunny. I don’t recall if mama meant for it to be that way or not. My guess is, knowing my mama, she meant for it to be that way. When Ruthie came along, Robert and I never really discussed it, we just assumed we would tell her about the Bunny and she would believe the little game for awhile. She is smarter than the average kid though. She had just barely turned one by the time her first Easter rolled around. Here is a picture of her first meeting of the Easter Bunny.

After that first meeting we lovingly referred to him as the Beaster Bunny. Clearly she was suspicious of his credentials. We gave up after she turned two. She was slightly more tolerant of him by then, but not enough to actually sit in his lap for a picture. She would get close, but didn’t want to get too close just in case.

We still play up the game and we still make sure there are baskets on the table on Easter morning, but there are other traditions we like better. This is one of Ruthie’s absolute favorites.

This is a carton of Resurrection Eggs. It is a neat tool to teach kids about the Easter Story. Not the Peter Cottontail story, the real one.

Each plastic egg has a small token that symbolizes some part of the story of the Passion of Christ. Ruthie is a very hands on child and had the story down pat with these eggs by the time she was 3 years old. She LOVES to take it when we visit family around this time of year and share the story with them. She will share it with anyone which is one of my favorite things about this tool. It was a great tool for me as well. I new what Easter was about, but I had never really studied into the details of the full story until a friend recommended these. It comes with a neat little booklet that goes into great detail Biblically about each token and the part of the story that it represents.

This year is Nate’s first year to experience them. He too is a quick learner and I have no doubt that he will be able to tell the story soon himself. Here he is with the “spear egg”. This year we are just focusing on the tokens themselves for him, but next year we will focus more on the story. The neat thing is that Ruthie has taken an active role in helping him learn the story. She loves telling it over and over to him. This is the last egg in the story. Ruthie loves telling about this one. The last egg in the story and the only one with nothing in it, therefore representing the empty tomb.

So the Beaster Bunny pretty much takes a back burner to this particular tradition and that is great with me.  I love fixing up their baskets (with a little less sugar than mom did) and I love that Ruthie gets excited to look for signs that the bunny came by, but I really love that she “loves to tell the story” tucked away in those eggs. Maybe one day she will be sharing the eggs at Harriet’s table with her own little ones.

