This is Betty, my wonderful Mother in Law, holding Nate the day he was born.

I am so blessed that I got one of the really good ones.

We are temporarily living with her until we get our housing situation figured out, and while Robert is getting his practice off the ground. She has graciously made this an easy transition and I love her on so many levels for this.

Also, for blogging purposes, she has some really cool stuff that I will be blogging about during our stay here. I can’t wait to tell you about some of it. You are going to LOVE her yearbook from when she was in modeling school in Atlanta.

Even though Harriet’s table is currently being stored in her basement, I am grateful to have two fabulous tables in her home from which to have similar inspiration from. I will be sharing about those at a later date.

Today, I have a mystery to share. Perhaps some of you will be able to help me with it.

On New Years Day, she pulled out a box that had this in it.

It is a child’s size Noritake tea set.

Here is another picture so you can get an idea of the size.

It even has gold trim.

When Betty’s father died a few years ago, it was found when the family was cleaning out his home. Apparently her mother played with it as a child, so we believe it came from the Huckabee side of the family, but we don’t know much more than that.

Being a bit of an antique enthusiast, I naturally looked for the stamp on the bottom and found this.

This stamp was made in 1918, and the China that bears it’s mark would have been made and hand painted in the 1920’s.

This is a really old tea set.

So far, I have not yet been able to find out about the pattern or anything else, so this will be a two part post. Keep reading and you will find out why.

The set was stored in a somewhat worn out cardboard box and wrapped in shredded news print. It had some stains and some sticky film all over it.  When just a little rinsing with warm water didn’t remove these things I did a little research to find out the best way to safely clean it all.

I lined the sink with a rubber mat and filled it with warm water and….

Ivory Dish Washing liquid. (unfortunatley, this is not a paid advertisement)

I let the pieces soak for a few minutes and then the stains came off very easily with a soft rag and soft toothbrush to get around the edges of the handles and spout of the tea pot.

The next suggestion I came across suggested that I wrap the individual pieces in coffee filters and then pack layers of bubble wrap in between them.

So for now, they are safely stored in a plastic storage tub. I of course took lots of pictures before I did that though. I found a website where I can send photographs of the set and the staff there will help me to identify the pattern and find out a little more about the set.

So, my question is this: have any of you ever found a neat family item that you had to research? I’d love to hear your stories and get your advice on how to research if you have any.

I’ll keep you up to date when I find out some more news.

To be continued…

