A couple of years ago I stumbled across a super easy, super yummy chicken enchilada recipe that my family loved. Pretty much whenever I roast a chicken these days this dish gets made. We don’t always eat it right away though. This is one of those that freeze beautifully for another day. It’s also good to have on hand in the freezer to take to a family that could use a meal every now and then.

Here are the items you are going to need.

Two cups of cubed chicken. You should have at least 4 cups if you used a 5lb bird in the method I posted here.

A cup or more of beans. Pretty much any kind. I used pintos today.

A little over half a block of cream cheese.

A cup of salsa.

As much cheese as you think enchiladas need.

About 10 tortillas. Flour or corn, it doesn’t matter.

Enchilada sauce. (yes, I know. That is a can of processed sauce in that picture and I have some splaining to do…)

And finally things I don’t have listed that you can also use, green chiles, black olives, grilled peppers and onions. I’ve used them all at one time or another. I just did not have any on hand today.

First step.

Pour your salsa into a large pan and add the cream cheese in chunks.

You should mix them together on low to medium heat until they look like this.

Next add the beans and the chicken.

Then just mix it all together until it has warmed all the way through.

Now it’s time to start loading the tortillas. We have used flour, corn, and whole wheat tortillas for this dish. Just pick your favorite and go with it.

Just spoon a bit (a little more than this though) into the center of the tortilla and the roll it up.

Then start lining them up in a pan. I usually can get about 10 of them out of this recipe. Be sure to spray the pan.

Ok, now for my confession of the day. This is enchilada sauce with all the bad stuff that I typically try to avoid.
I have a fantastic recipe here for home made sauce that both Robert and I LOVE, but the children… hate. it. I’m sure I can find one that they will enjoy, I just haven’t looked for another yet, so, if you have one, please, please share.

Finally you need cheese!

Marble is my favorite, but other good ideas are smoked cheddar and pepper jack or a combination of any of these.  I’m pretty generous with the cheese on this dish. At least a cup and a half on top of the enchiladas.

I totally forgot to take a picture of the final product, so you will have to use your imagination. After the cheese you can top it with green chiles, or black olives, or some crumbled bacon, or even a little cilantro.  Be creative.

Then put it in the oven on 350 for about 20 to 25 minutes. The cheese will be bubbly when it’s done.

There are several of you reading this that have probably at one time or another had me show up on your door step with a pan of this if you were moving or had a baby, or just needed a meal for some reason. It is my most given out and requested recipe.

I can’t wait to hear how the rest of you like it! Enjoy.

Next and last. Chicken and Dumplins!

